New York

U.S. Marshals Service offices are based on the organizational structure of the Federal District Court system. New York is divided into four judicial districts that are referred to as the Northern, Southern, Eastern, and Western Districts of New York.



Northern District of New York:

The Northern District comprises the counties of Albany, Broome, Cayuga, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Lewis, Madison, Montgomery, Oneida, Onondaga, Oswego, Otsego, Rensselaer, Saint Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, and Washington.

Court for the Northern District is held in Albany, Auburn, Binghamton, Malone, Syracuse, Utica, and Watertown.



Southern District of New York:

The Southern District comprises the counties of Bronx, Dutchess, New York, Orange, Putnam, Rockland, Sullivan, and Westchester and concurrently with the Eastern District, the waters within the Eastern District.

Court for the Southern District is held in New York, White Plains, and in the Middletown-Wallkill area of Orange County or such nearby location as may be deemed appropriate.



Eastern District of New York:

The Eastern District comprises the counties of Kings, Nassau, Queens, Richmond, and Suffolk and concurrently with the Southern District, the waters within the counties of Bronx and New York.

Court for the Eastern District is held in Brooklyn, Hauppauge, Hempstead (including the village of Uniondale), and Central Islip.

Western District of New York:

The Western District comprises the counties of Allegany, Cattaraugus, Chautauqua, Chemung, Erie, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Niagara, Ontario, Orleans, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, and Yates.

Court for the Western District is held in Buffalo,

1 of 2



Canandaigua, Elmira, Jamestown, and Rochester.

The organizational structure of the district can be found in the United States Code Title 28, Part I, Chapter 5. Sec. 112.

2 of 2